Marcia Moody – Kate: A Biography

I love recommending books to my readers. When I love a book it’s just the best thing to share my enjoyment of it and to see if anyone else likes it just as much as I did. Of course there are always books I didn’t enjoy as much as others, yet I wouldn’t want to speak badly of them because tastes are always subjective and just because I don’t like a book doesn’t mean someone else won’t love it. However, sometimes I come across the odd book that is just so BAD that I feel the need to protect my readers from making the mistake of buying it. The book I’m going to write about here is such a case…
Marcia Moody’s biography of The Duchess of Cambridge was released on July 19th and seemed to me a fitting read in anticipation of the birth of the royal baby. I had seen Moody on TV a couple of times and was following her on Twitter as well and thought quite highly of her, so I fully expected to enjoy her book about Kate’s life. Well, it was not to be… This is one of the worst books I have ever read. For the most part it’s nothing more than a summary of Kate’s royal engagements and her wardrobe. Also the author seems to be such a big fan of Kate that even though she mentions criticism of her, in each case it is simply dismissed as being false, but with very weak arguments against it. It is very poorly edited as well, there’s hardly a page where there’s not a word missing or a typo. I read the Kindle edition, so I’m still kind of hoping this is just due to a poor ebook converter, but somehow I doubt it, because being an editor in publishing myself I know how this is usually done and that the same data is used for the print and ebook editions. Also, there are quite a few repetitions, like the mentioning of Kate being born in the coldest January for ages and such. Again, poor editing. So, to cut this short, because it really doesn’t merit a long review: Don’t waste your money on this!!

20130804-144250.jpg

2 thoughts on “Marcia Moody – Kate: A Biography

  1. Trish Livesey April 17, 2014 / 11:15 PM

    Got to agree with your review after reading the book. Couldn’t believe she described St Andrews as being on the west coast of Scotland! and it just went downhill from there!

    • Julia April 18, 2014 / 12:23 PM

      Haha, see I didn’t even notice that one! 😉 I’m glad I’m not the only one who thought the book was rather horribly written, though.

Leave a Reply

